Menstrual Hygiene is not about Sanitary Napkins

When I started the Menstrual Hygiene awareness initiative 3 years ago, I assumed the answer to menstrual hygiene was distributing Sanitary Napkins.

Sanitary pad distribution

So we got donors and napkins and gave them for free in rural government schools. And then, we ran out of donors. And then, a small voice in my head asked me why I never bothered to ask the girls if they did need Sanitary Napkins and what they would do if I (or others like me) stopped supplying these. And about the same time, a not-so-small voice asked me what about the environmental damage that Sanitary Napkins cause by improper disposal methods.

Due to the nature of such thoughts which usually trouble me until I act on them, I was forced to find out what women and girls do when there are no Sanitary Napkins, and also what they do do with Sanitary Napkins.

20130308_154727

Most women and girls I interacted with (around 5000 in the last 3 years) across rural Karnataka, use cloth (cotton)  to absorb menstrual flow. And unlike my own earlier assumption, the reason isn’t always that cloth is cheaper. But rather, that cloth is familiar. In that part of our country, where tradition and ancient methods exist, cloth is a familiar, comfortable option. And why not? It absorbs blood quite well, can be procured easily without the embarrassment of asking a shop-keeper, can be washed and re-used and thereby eliminating the problem of disposal and environmental damage.

So why do so many NGOs, the government and women themselves say that cloth is bad and we need to promote the use of Sanitary Napkins to solve the problems faced by women during Menstruation?

20130308_163552 What I found was that it was not the usage of cloth, per se, that caused health & hygiene issues, but rather “how” the cloth was used. In many places, women have told me how it is dried inside the house in some dark corner so that no man sees it, how it is stored in the roof or some hole in the ground so that men and children don’t access it, and how many women in one household share the same cloth. These practices  without doubt, are likely to create health issues when the cloth is not fully dry, exposed to sunlight to kill germs and unhygienically stored and shared. But the solution is not in blindly telling girls to not use cloth, but instead telling them how to use it right. And I have witnessed how such information has been far more empowering to women who realized that their health & hygiene was in their hands, rather than being dependent on something they were unfamiliar with.

And lastly, it is wrong to assume that introducing Sanitary Napkins in itself solves these issues. I have come across cases where just because they use Sanitary Napkins, girls think that it has some super absorbing capacity and do not change it as frequently as they should, or would if it were the good ol’ cloth. Thereby, the harm caused by Sanitary Napkins not being used properly is not greatly different from that of improper usage of cloth.

A student sharing her experienceBut the point here is that we should be careful not to mislead young girls and women by promoting that hygiene is all about switching to Sanitary Napkins, simply because we (read the urban women) do not know any better. Instead, we need to tell them how to maintain hygiene, regardless of what they use. Why not leave it to them to decide what to use? And respect that decision.

 

9 comments

    • Dear Swetha, Please visit the VIDEO section and feel free to show the video to adolescent girls in Karnataka and initiate such talks yourself. Since schools will soon close, I will be starting the talks again in June, when you can also join.
      Regards,
      Sinu

  1. Wonderful woman.I feel honoured if I could do my bit help,I had no idea the impact had or misery these girls women went through.
    i hope I don’t sound patronising or feminist ,I just woman standing with other women something all women go through for that alone.
    Menstration was bad enough for me within my family,my mother gave me plastic pants said don’t make mess gave me no money for pads and I dreaded school bc of it and I was not only one.I come from western world where things are surpposely better so I have some understanding and most women over the world do anything we can do to help

  2. Dear Mythri, really its helpful article and ur experience while conducting the sessions.actually i want to take such session with my rural girls,in Maharashtra. i want to take series of session with adolescent on monthly basis, can u suggest me the topic like Menstruation, hygiene and sanitation, hormonal changes.like this.

    Thanks and regards,
    DEEPALI.

  3. Hi,
    i am Disha Patel and resided in one of the village in Gujarat. Being educated, i understand that girls in rural area need some knowledge on menstruation and answer their suppressed questions as much as i can.
    i just started to give sessions to the rural girls about menstruation, at the governent school. Initially i was wondering how shall i start, but i was lucky to get through ur blog the very same day before my sessions. Would u have any link in English or Gujarati, request you to share, about what and how can i do such sessions with these girls
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

